The present project seeks to preserve, expand, enhance, highlight and promote the rare cultural heritage, natural wealth and tourism potential of the area, as well as to make a substantial cultural intervention through its integrated digital upgrading, which includes the use of high quality technologies in terms of audiovisual content, digital application development and service creation.

This includes the documentation of all the attractions of cultural and tourist interest in the municipality, with the possibility of linking them through different digital media and technologies, easy and quick access to cultural elements, as well as a range of alternative activities.

In addition, the digital mapping of sites of high cultural value and the development of audiovisual material includes photographs and 3D reconstructions, audio documents, and 360° films based on innovative technology.


The Municipality of Northern Tzoumerka belongs to the Region of Epirus and was established in 2011 from the merger of the municipalities of Katsanochoria, Pramanta, Tzoumerka and the communities of Vathypedo, Matsouki, Kalarrites, Syrrako. Tzoumerka breaks down to two municipalities, one of which is in the Prefecture of Arta and the other in the Prefecture of Ioannina. More specifically, the Municipality of North Tzoumerka and its headquarters in Pramanta are located in the Prefecture of Ioannina, spreading over 23 villages in an area of 200,000 acres. Pramanta, built amphitheatrically on the slopes of Strongoula peak, has always been the administrative and economic center of the entire surrounding area and is a town rich in tradition and history.

The Municipality of North Tzoumerka covers a mostly mountainous area of natural beauty. It extends from the borders of the Ioannina basin to the ridges of Tzoumerka and Peristeri and is crossed by the Kalarritikos and Arachthos rivers. The place is rich in history, tradition and culture and its economy is based on both the primary sector and tourism activities.

The villages of Northern Tzoumerka are in Central Pindos, between two rivers, Arachthos and Aspropotamos (Achelous). Tzoumerka is the natural border between Epirus and Thessaly, while it is also known as the Athamanika Mountains. Katsanochoria, at the foot of the Athamanika Mountains, is the access to the center of Epirus, Ioannina.

The name Tzoumerka is said to be of Vlach origin, as “jum” in Vlach means “steep peak”. The name Athamanika Mountains is due to the king of Orchomenos of Boeotia, Athamas. He fled here, to these parts, pursued by his citizens. The inhabitants of the area proclaimed him their king. Athamas united all the settlements in the area and created the kingdom of the Athamans.

The most important cities of Ancient Athamania were Argothea, which was also the capital, Theodoria and Avatos. They worshiped as gods Zeus, Apollo, Athena, Artemis, Aeolus and Arachthos, deified as heroes. Athamane coins at this time bore depictions of Dione and Athena holding a glaucus.

The first citadels and phryctorias were erected at key points of the entrances from Thessaly and southern Epirus as well as from the North. Hellenistic fortresses (end of the 3rd to beginning of the 2nd century BC) in Kalentzi, Plaka, Kalarrites, Chouliarades, Pramanta, controlling the river Arachthos and the ravines of its tributaries, which are channels of communication with Thessaly.

In its current geographical form, the wider area of Pramanta, including the settlements of Christoi, Tsopelas, Agia Triada, Dounavos, Kommatakia, Fraxos, Tourka, as well as other smaller settlements, is believed to have developed in the middle of the 15th century.

During the years of the Greek War of Independence, major military operations took place in the region between the Sultanate forces and the Greek revolutionaries. In July 1821, the hordes of Hursit Pasha, having already destroyed Syrrako and Kalarrites, burned Pramanta. The answer was not long in coming. From the ridges of Strongoula, where they had taken refuge for protection, men and women of Pramanta, led by Gogos Bakolas, marched into the village and, after a fierce battle, drove out the conquerors. To avoid reprisals, several families fled to Aetoloakarnania, Evrytania, Arta and Peloponnese.

The proclamation of the first Greek state finds the region outside its borders. The failed revolution of 1854 and 1878 followed until in 1881, with the conference of Berlin, a large part of the region became part of the free Greek state. The District of Tzoumerka was founded, consisting of the municipalities of Theodoria, Agnanta, Pramanta, and Kalarrites, with Pramanta as the capital.

Part of the Arachthos River and its tributary, Kalarritikos, form the border between Greece and Turkey. The entire region would be liberated during the Balkan wars, 1912-1913.


Developed by Developed by Dotsoft